Netspar was established in 2005, as part of Tilburg University.

In 2012, the network was organized as a foundation. Activities at Netspar are carried out by the Netspar Center, an operating unit of Tilburg University.

Foundation Board

All of the network partners (from the pension industry, government, and academic institutions) have a seat on the Foundation Board. Each partner gets a vote. The Dutch Ministry of Social Affairs acts as an observer on the Foundation Board (without a vote).

The Foundation Board appoints Five of the eight of the members of the Supervisory Board and advises and monitors various divisions of the Netspar Foundation. Starting in 2016, the Supervisory Board will ask the advice of the Foundation Board before approving the budget.

The chair of the Supervisory Board is also the chair at the meetings of the Foundation Board.

Members of the Foundation Board:

  • Rob AlessieUniversity of Groningen
  • Tinka den ArendAPG Groep
  • Frits BartTKP Pensioen
  • Jan Berndsen – AFM
  • Benedict DellaertErasmus University Rotterdam
  • Jochem DijckmeesterPensioenfonds PGB
  • Wilco van DijkLeiden University
  • Twan van ErpAchmea
  • Jurre de HaanStichting van de Arbeid
  • Hans HoekenUtrecht University
  • Erik LutjensVrije Universiteit Amsterdam
  • René MaatmanRadboud University
  • Jeroen de MunnikPGGM
  • Bart OldenkampRail & OV
  • Cindy van OorschotDNB
  • Folkert Pamaa.s.r.
  • Peter SchotmanMaastricht University
  • Terry TroostPMT
  • Michel VellekoopUniversity of Amsterdam
  • Annemieke Visser-BronsZwitserleven
  • Ton WilthagenTilburg University
  • Kenan YildirimShell


Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board oversees the general state of affairs at Netspar, with a particular focus on how the Board executes the Action Plan. The Supervisory Board also approves the long-range plan, the budget, and the annual accounts.

Chair: Corien Wortmann-Kool


  • Inge van den DoelPMT
  • Guusje DolsmaLabor Foundation
  • Laura van GeestAFM
  • Lex MeijdamTilburg University
  • Annette MosmanAPG
  • Leon van RietNationale Nederlanden
  • Piet RietmanFNV

Five of the seats on the Supervisory Board are appointed by the Foundation Board. Of the remaining seats, two are appointed by the Labor Foundation and one is appointed by Tilburg University. The task of the Supervisory Board and profile for the chairman and members of the Supervisory Board can be found here (only available in Dutch).


The Board of the Netspar Foundation consists of Lisa Brüggen as of March 1, 2023.
The director of the Netspar Foundation is, in that capacity, also General Director of the Netspar Center, part of Tilburg University.










Last modified February 19, 2024.

Netspar, Network for Studies on Pensions, Aging and Retirement, is a thinktank and knowledge network. Netspar is dedicated to promoting a wider understanding of the economic and social implications of pensions, aging and retirement in the Netherlands and Europe.


Mission en strategy           •           Network           •           Organisation           •          Magazine
Board Brief            •            Actionplan 2023-2027           •           Researchagenda


Our partners

View all partners