netspar center

The Netspar Foundation has placed the responsibility for carrying out all of its activities with the Netspar Center, which is part of Tilburg University.


Marike Knoef
General Director
Personal page LU
Tilburg University, office K522
Tel: 013 466 3498
Secretary: Diana Vingerhoets


Theo Nijman
Research Director
Short CV
Personal page TiU
Tilburg University, office K526
Tel: 013 466 81 64
Secretary: Sylvia Hanhart


Mathijs van Dijk
Scientific Director
Tilburg University, office K521
Tel: 013 466 89 42
Secretary: Sylvia Hanhart


Peter Gaillard
Director of Operations
Tilburg University, office K518
Tel: 013 466 82 23
Secretary: Diana Vingerhoets


The board seeks the advice of various advisory bodies:


Scientific Council (SC)

The Scientific Council is composed of prestigious international researchers with extensive expertise in the Netspar research domains. The council advises the board on the composition of the research programs and during the selection process for theme projects. The council reports to the Supervisory Board.

Chair: Hazel Bateman (CEPAR and UNSW Sydney)

Members of the SC:

  • David Blake (City University London, Actuarial Sciences)
  • Richard Blundell (University College London, Economics)
  • Dan Goldstein (The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, Psychology)
  • Christian Gollier (University of Toulouse, Economics)
  • Martin Kohli (Emeritus Professor of Sociology, European University Institute, Sociology)
  • Annamaria Lusardi (The George Washington University School of Business, multi-disciplinary)
  • Josh Rauh (Stanford University, Economics )
  • Merril Silverstein (Syracuse University, Sociology)
  • Yves Stevens (KU Leuven, Law )
  • Guglielmo Weber (University of Padova, CINTIA, Economics)


Partner Research Council (PRC)

All of the network’s partners are represented on the PRC. The PRC advises the board on research and education. It is consulted in drawing up the research agenda and on the priorities for short-term topical research and long-range projects. In addition, the PRC signs off on the Netspar Brief prior to publication.

You can download the voting procedure used by the PRC for projects here (only available in Dutch).

Chair: Niels Kortleve (PGGM)

Members of the PRC:

  • Rob Alessie (University of Groningen)
  • Arthur Arbouw (a.s.r.)
  • Jim Been (Leiden University)
  • Eelco Blaauw (SPH)
  • Servaas van Bilsen (University of Amsterdam)
  • Bart Boon (Achmea)
  • Marco Brouwer / Gerard Rutten (Labor Foundation)
  • Jeannette Capel (DNB)
  • Nienke Cornelissen (Ministry of Finance)
  • Bas Donkers (Erasmus University Rotterdam)
  • Rob van den Goorbergh (APG)
  • Mark Irwin (Ortec Finance)
  • Hans Hoeken (Utrecht University)
  • Lennart Janssens (Ministry of Social Affairs)
  • Job Krijnen (AFM)
  • Maarten Lindeboom (VU University)
  • Rene Maatman (Radboud University)
  • Anna Miley (Nationale Nederlanden)
  • Ludo Nagel (Rail & OV)
  • Robert Olieman (SVB)
  • Richard Pauw (MN)
  • Arno Riedl (Maastricht University)
  • Martijn Rijnhart (AEGON Nederland)
  • Ravien Sewtahal (SPMS)
  • Peter Simonse (Ministry of Interior and Kingdom Relations)
  • Eveline Smeets (Shell Pensioenfondsen)
  • Robert den Toom (Pensioenfonds PGB)
  • Anja De Waegenaere (Tilburg University)

The Federation of Dutch Pension Funds and the Dutch Association of Insurers are observers on the PRC.
For more information or questions about the PRC please contact Policy Officer Silvie van Halder

Editorial Board (EB)

The Editorial Board is made up of academics and professionals delegated by the Netspar partners. The board reviews the industry-specific papers for academic quality and relevance for pension professionals. It also judges student theses and dissertations in choosing the winners of the annual Netspar Thesis Awards.

Chair:  Andries de Grip (Maastricht University)

Members of the EB:

  • Rob Alessie (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen)
  • Mark-Jan Boes (VU Amsterdam)
  • Arjen Hussem (PGGM)
  • Agnes Joseph (Achmea)
  • Bert Kramer (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen & Ortec Finance)
  • Serge Mans (AEGON)
  • Raymond Montizaan (Maastricht University)
  • Alwin Oerlemans (APG)
  • Maarten van Rooij (De Nederlandsche Bank)
  • Mariëtte Sanderse (PMT)
  • Peter Schotman (Maastricht University)
  • Peter Wijn (APG)
  • Jeroen Wirschell (PGGM)
  • Sjoerd Witjes (Nationale Nederlanden)
  • Marianne Zweers (a.s.r.)



Events, communications, relations management, project control, and operations are all handled by the Netspar Administration Office.

Events: Netspar secretary
Communications: Sheila Reneerkens, Steffie Sprengers (as of October 3, 2022)
Research and papers: Chantal Willems-Mutsaers, Silvie van Halder, Esther Hermans-Spijker
Education and internships: Silvie van Halder
Finance: Harry de Kort
Executive Secretary: Silvie van Halder
Secretaries: Diana Vingerhoets, Sylvia Hanhart



Casper van Ewijk
Member of Expertise centre
Short CV | Full CV
Tilburg University, office K522
Tel: 013 466 28 33


Silvie van Halder
Policy Advisor Research and Executive Secretary
Tilburg University, office K518
Tel: +31 (0)13 466 37 93


Sylvia Hanhart
Personal assistent
Tilburg University, office K515
Tel: +31 (0)13 466 81 64
Works from Monday until Thursday


Esther Hermans-Spijker
Project Coordinator
Tilburg University, office K523
Tel: 013 466 82 20
Works from Monday untill Thursday


Harry de Kort
Tilburg University, office K523
Tel: +31(0) 13 466 89 85
Works fulltime

Sheila Reneerkens
Senior advisor (science) communication
Tilburg University, office K518
Tel: 013 466 3140
Works on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday en Thursday

Sheila Reneerkens_dec2020_new

Steffie Sprengers (as of October 3, 2022)
Communication assistant
Tilburg University, office K518

Diana Vingerhoets
Secretary of the Board
Tilburg University, office K515
Tel: +31 (0)13 466 84 20
Works on all days (except Wednesdays in even weeks)


Chantal Willems
Project Coordinator/Redactiesecretary Netspar Papers
Tilburg University, office K523
Tel: 013 466 37 54
Works Monday, Tuesday and Thursday

Last updated September 20, 2022

Netspar, Network for Studies on Pensions, Aging and Retirement, is a thinktank and knowledge network. Netspar is dedicated to promoting a wider understanding of the economic and social implications of pensions, aging and retirement in the Netherlands and Europe.


Mission en strategy           •           Network           •           Organisation           •          Magazine
Netspar Brief            •            Actionplan 2019-2023           •           Researchagenda


Our partners

B20160708_maastricht university
View all partners